This article is incomplete
Some sections are missing or need additional details. Help improve it by contributing.
Valor Mortis is divided into numbered chapters. That is confirmed rather than inferred: in August 2026 the studio described the demo as skipping "from Chapter I to Chapter VII", and in September 2026 it referred to the two demo levels by those numbers again while explaining where General Lothaire actually sits in the finished game.
Confirmed Chapters
Chapter | Name | What it contains | How it was shown |
|---|---|---|---|
I | Revival | A ravaged battlefield that teaches the first-person combat system. The studio calls it a tutorial level | Playable as the first level of the 2026 demo, and as a condensed version in the October 2025 pre-alpha playtest |
II | Not published | Ends with the General Lothaire boss fight in the full game | Not shown publicly. Confirmed by the studio in September 2026 |
VII | Not published | The nighttime village and the run to the Lighthouse. Introduces the rapier, the musket, a shield Transmutation and corrupted villagers | Playable as the second level of the 2026 demo; its village portion was the subject of the November 2025 "Crimson Plague" trailer |
The Witch Hunt Name
One demo patch note refers to a level called Witch Hunt. The demo contained exactly two levels and the first is named Revival, so Witch Hunt almost certainly belongs to the second, which is Chapter VII. The studio has never printed the number and the name together, so this page treats the pairing as a strong inference rather than a confirmed title.
Places Inside the Chapters
Place | Where it sits | What is known |
|---|---|---|
The Lighthouse | Chapter VII | The bridge to it has been destroyed, and the crossing is the level's traversal set piece |
The nighttime village | Chapter VII | Narrow streets, abandoned houses and flickering torches, fought through against corrupted villagers. The studio has framed it as the moment William sees what the conquest has really done |
The city sewers | Not stated | Where The Orphan lurks |
A sandy desert | Not stated | Implied only by a September 2026 teaser question about a beast in the sandy desert. Unconfirmed as a playable area |
The broader environment set the studio and its press material have described runs to ravaged battlefields, sprawling mountains and European-inspired cities consumed by the plague.
The Demo Was Not the Game
This is the single most important thing to know when reading demo footage. In September 2026 the studio said the two demo levels, "while titled Chapter I and Chapter VII", were "actually bespoke versions of those chapters that we recreated for Steam Next Fest", which is why optimisation, balancing and bug fixes from the full game could not simply be dropped into the demo build.
The clearest consequence is boss placement. In the demo, General Lothaire closed Chapter I after roughly thirty minutes of play. In the finished game he is the boss at the end of Chapter II. The studio's stated reason is the difficulty curve: by Chapter II the player has spent more time with the first-person combat system and has levelled up, which it expects to make the fight land very differently.
Treat any chapter-specific detail taken from demo footage as demo-specific unless the studio has repeated it for the full game.
What the Structure Implies
Numbered chapters sit awkwardly next to the game's other stated structure, which is Metroidvania-inspired levels with optional routes gated behind traversal abilities. The two are not contradictory: the studio's technical director has said the game is not open world and that Unreal Engine 5's World Partition is used to build sprawling individual levels rather than one continuous map. A chapter is therefore best read as a large, revisitable area rather than as a corridor.
What Is Still Open
As of September 13, 2026, across the official store listing, the official site, the studio's Steam development posts and the published trailers, the studio has not given the total number of chapters. Chapter VII exists, so there are at least seven. No chapter besides Chapter I has been given a published name, no running time has been quoted for any chapter, and the studio has not said whether chapters can be replayed independently or only through a new game.
The studio has also said it wants to answer, before launch, how much of the finished game is platforming and how much is combat. That balance has not been quantified. The Getting Started page covers the loop that runs inside each chapter.
Campaign length and optional routes
The studio's September 17 announcement describes a 20-hour story. It does not give a chapter-by-chapter duration, total chapter count or completionist estimate. The September 30 overview confirms side quests, secrets and shortcuts, with branching level design described alongside the main campaign.
These launch descriptions do not change the developer's warning that the two demo chapters were bespoke recreations. Do not use their boss placement or length as a map of the shipped chapter sequence.