Technical Specifications
Engine
Phantom Blade Zero runs on Unreal Engine 5. The concept phase (2017-2022) was handled by a small two-to-three-person team; full-scale development began in early 2022. S-GAME takes a deliberately selective approach to UE5's flagship features, prioritising performance and visual coherence over enabling every option.
UE5 Feature Usage
Feature | Details |
|---|---|
Nanite | Reports vary between builds. Earlier coverage described Nanite as preserving asset quality without sacrificing framerate; later hands-on suggested partial or no Nanite in specific demo builds. The pipeline appears to have evolved between events. |
Lumen | Inconsistent across builds. Some scenes used Lumen for atmospheric global illumination; others fell back to baked lighting with selective ray-traced shadows. Likely reflects different optimisation passes per show. |
Virtual Shadow Maps | Not used. |
Hardware Ray Tracing
Hardware ray tracing is confirmed on both PS5 and PC. Ray-traced shadows and reflections are applied selectively (water surfaces, puddles, specific lighting setups) rather than across every material. S-GAME has acknowledged technical support from both AMD and NVIDIA on the implementation.
DLSS 4 and PC-Exclusive Effects
The PC version launches with day-one DLSS 4 with Multi Frame Generation. NVIDIA confirmed at CES 2026 that PC-exclusive effects on RTX hardware include ray-traced reflections, ray-traced shadows, and ray-traced caustics. The combination of upscaling and frame generation is intended to keep high framerates achievable even with full ray tracing turned on.
PS5 Performance Targets
Standard PS5 modes: 2K at 60 fps and 4K at 30 fps; 4K at 60 fps was named as an aspirational target
CES 2026 hands-on at the Hisense booth (#17704) ran a base PS5 at a stable 60 fps on 320Hz displays, with multiple hands-on reports calling the build "nearly final"
PS5 Pro adds upgraded textures, models, and lighting; Summer Game Fest 2025 and Gamescom 2025 hands-on sessions both ran on PS5 Pro hardware
DRM
The PC version uses Denuvo Anti-Tamper, disclosed on both the Steam and Epic Games Store pages. Steam lists 15 supported languages, but only two of them, English and Simplified Chinese, carry full voice acting. The remaining thirteen are interface and subtitle languages.
Production Philosophy
Director Soulframe Liang has described the studio's approach as "adopt the most traditional game design approach, avoiding automated mass production." Combat segments are described as handcrafted and thoughtfully designed. In April 2026 S-GAME publicly confirmed it does not use generative AI in the final game: assets are hand-crafted, character models are based on real actor scans, voice lines are recorded with real talent, and kung fu masters are consulted for authentic movement. The selective UE5 feature usage flows from the same philosophy: enable the technologies that serve the game's visual goals, ignore the ones that do not.
PC System Requirements
S-GAME published the official PC specification sheet on August 12, 2026, alongside the opening of pre-orders. Four tiers are listed: minimum, recommended, and two additional tiers covering ray tracing and path tracing. Every tier assumes upscaling is switched on, and all four require an SSD.
Tier | CPU | GPU | Memory | Target |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Minimum | Intel Core i7-8700K / AMD Ryzen 5 3600 | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1660 6GB / AMD Radeon RX 5500 XT 8GB | 16 GB | 1080p at 30 FPS |
Recommended | Intel Core i5-10600K / AMD Ryzen 5 5600X | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3060 Ti 8GB / AMD Radeon RX 6700 XT 12GB | 16 GB | 1440p at 60 FPS |
Ray tracing | Not separately specified | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5060 8GB | Not separately specified | 1080p at 60 FPS |
Path tracing | Not separately specified | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5080 16GB | Not separately specified | 2160p at 60 FPS |
Both the minimum and recommended tiers ask for Windows 10 or 11 64-bit, DirectX 12, and 16 GB of memory. The two tiers name CPUs from different generations rather than different performance classes: the minimum entry is an eighth-generation Core i7 and the recommended entry is a tenth-generation Core i5, so the recommended chip is the newer part despite carrying the lower model tier. The ray-tracing and path-tracing rows list only a GPU and a target resolution, so they read as additions to the recommended tier rather than as standalone builds.
The specification sheet supersedes every requirement estimate that circulated before it. Predictions published ahead of the official sheet were derived from each other rather than from anything the studio had released, and the figures they carried do not match the official sheet.
Accessibility and Platform Features
The PC storefront listing enumerates a set of options and platform features that the marketing material does not mention.
Feature | Detail |
|---|---|
Adjustable difficulty | Four named tiers, three of them selectable from the start. See Difficulty and Progression. |
Adjustable text size | Interface text can be scaled. |
Subtitle options | Subtitles are configurable, and are available in all fifteen supported languages. |
Custom volume controls | Audio channels can be balanced individually. |
Controller support | Full controller support, with a gamepad recommended. DualShock and DualSense controllers are both supported on PC. |
Cloud saves | Saves sync through the storefront's own cloud. This is not the same as cross-platform save transfer, which has not been announced. |
Family sharing | The PC release is family-share eligible. |
Audio is listed as stereo. No PS5 Pro enhancement detail, frame-rate mode list or cross-save arrangement had been published on the storefronts or the official site as of October 11, 2026. In October 2026 interviews the director said the PS5 Pro version is getting enhancements beyond ray tracing, covering higher-quality character and environment models and lighting, and that the details will be shared through PlayStation at a later date.
Storage
All four specification tiers require an SSD and none of them states a capacity. The publisher's Chinese storefront carries a storage field and leaves it undetermined, so no install size exists for this game as of October 11, 2026.
The official specification sheet is also vendor-neutral on upscaling: every tier says only that upscaling is enabled, and none of the four names a DLSS, FSR or XeSS version. The day-one DLSS 4 support described above was confirmed around the CES 2026 ray-tracing reveal and in the studio's own post accompanying it, not on the specification sheet, so the two do not contradict each other. As of October 11, 2026 the graphics vendor's own site still carries no article about this game.